Modern life

It has been said that the current generation always bemoans the impact of “progress” and change on our lifestyles and the younger generation’s habits.
I think I personally started saying “kids these days…” in a (semi-)ironic way before I was out of college. (What can I say? I was obnoxiously precocious.)

Here’s a great collection of quotes that prove this sort of expression has a long and august history. The technologies and the rate of change have greatly increased, but the general lament seems much the same. Below are some of my favorites, along with a few choice footnotes related to our own modern lives.
You can also enjoy the full piece here.

Screen shot 2013-09-05 at 10.29.27 AM

Brief letter next week? How about a brief text 5 seconds later?

Screen shot 2013-09-05 at 10.29.14 AM

I did not witness Miley Cyrus scandalize the VMAs, but I’ve heard about it (ad nauseum) secondhand, and I’m pretty sure the most cheeky and scandalous chorus girl of 1908 couldn’t get within lightyears of her public display.

Screen shot 2013-09-05 at 10.28.52 AM

Love that bicycles are the utmost in speed. And I’m pretty sure the vapid personalities of 2013 could give those of 1905 a serious run for their money.

Screen shot 2013-09-05 at 10.27.57 AM

Instagram, anyone?

Screen shot 2013-09-05 at 10.27.41 AM

This might be my favorite of all – “A craving for literary nips.” Countless internet examples abound.

Leave a Reply

