Cuba – Cars

I think two things contribute to my love of old cars:

My dad has a thing for them, so my appreciation was nurtured from an early age. I am not one of those people who can reel off model names and years like some boys do batting averages, but I do admire them for their aesthetics.

My mom drove a ’57 Chevy Bel-Air when I was very young, we moved to California in it, and kept it alive as long as we could.  Her name was “The Ritz”, and she looked a little something like the 3rd photo in the gallery below, but with an aquamarine/white color scheme (keep in mind I’m working with the memory of a 6-year-old here).

Last year, in 2011, I had a ball taking endless photos of the antique car show that parks itself annually on South Congress near my house. I missed it this year because I was in Cuba (of all places!), but I couldn’t complain, since Cuba really is (by necessity, not by design) the old car capital of the world.

I wish I could say that all my shots of old cars in Cuba seem calendar or screensaver-worthy to me, but many are not.  Many were taken while standing on a street corner and nabbing a shot as a car drove by, or even taken from a different moving car that I was in (since the most common place to see cars is in motion, on the road).  Below I share some great, some respectable, and some mediocre shots of cars from Cuba. Most in Havana, but a few out in the countryside west of and east of the city.

Leave a Reply

